Details on the structure of the Nigerian civil service, parastatals covered and functions. The Nigerian Civil Service is a body of people that provide services for the federal government of Nigeria. These services also include public services to the citizens of the country. This body has a structure that makes the provision of services possible.

In the Nigerian Civil Service, there are divisions responsible for unique services. These divisions are known as ministries. A ministry is ahead by a permanent secretary. Permanent secretaries report directly to ministers of each ministry. Furthermore, ministers report directly to the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Ministers of each and every ministry are appointed by the President of Nigeria. Permanent secretaries are allowed to spend a maximum of two terms in office. A term lasts for a period of four years.

Public Service

Structure of Nigerian Civil Service

We have provided basic information about the structure of Nigerian Civil Service, it’s time for us to discuss some important ministries in the Nigerian Public Service.

However, before going to the discussion of some ministries, let us provide the list of ministries in the country:

  • The Ministry of Agriculture
  • The Ministry of Aviation; the Ministry of Defence
  • The Ministry of Education
  • The Ministry of Energy
  • The Ministry of Environment
  • The Ministry of Federal Capital Territory
  • The Ministry of Finance
  • The Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • The Ministry of Health
  • The Ministry of Information
  • The Ministry of Interior
  • The Ministry of Justice
  • The Ministry of Labour and Productivity
  • The Ministry of Lands & Urban Development
  • The Ministry of Mines and Steel Development
  • The Ministry of Niger Delta
  • The Ministry of Petroleum Resources
  • The Ministry of Power
  • The Ministry of Science & Technology
  • The Ministry of Trade and Investment
  • The Ministry of Transportation
  • The Ministry of Tourism, Culture & National Orientation
  • The Ministry of Water
  • The Ministry of Women Affairs; the Ministry of Works
  • The Ministry of Youth Development.

Ministry of Finance

The Ministry of Finance, officially known as the Federal Ministry of Finance, is a key division in the Nigerian Civil Service. This division is responsible for the finance of the country. The ministry offers a good number of services to the country, including preparing the country’s budget and formulating economic policies. The Ministry of Finance does not reach out directly to the citizens of the country, their services are indirect.

The following are names of all people that have held this post: Festus Okotie-Eboh — (1960 – 1966), Obafemi Awolowo — (1967 – 1971), Shehu Shagari — (1971 – 1975), Asumoh Ete Ekukinam — (1976 – 1977), James Oluleye — (1977 – 1979), Sunday Essang — (1979 – 1983), Onaolapo Soleye — (1984 – 1985), Kalu Idika Kalu — (1985 – 1986), Chu Okongwu — (1986 – 1990), Olu Falae — (1990 – 1990), Abubakar Alhaji — (1990 – 1993), Aminu Saleh — (1993 – 1993), Kalu Idika Kalu — (1993 – 1994), Anthony Ani — (1994 – 1998), Ismaila Usman — (1998 – 1999), Adamu Ciroma — (1999 – 2003), Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala — (2003 – 2006), Nnenadi Usman — (2006 – 2007), Shamsuddeen Usman — (2007 – 2009), Mansur Mukhtar — (2009 – 2010), Olusegun Olutoyin Aganga — (2010 – 2011), Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala — (2011 – 2015), and Kemi Adeosun — (2015—present).

Furthermore, the Ministry of Finance has a good number of parastatals and agencies under it. These parastatals and agencies include Office of the Accountant General of the Federation Of Nigeria, Federal Inland Revenue Service, Investment and Security Tribunal, National Insurance Commission, Nigerian Export-Import Bank [NEXIM], Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation, Nigerian Customs Service, and Security and Exchange Commission.

Ministry of Justice

The Ministry of Justice is the division of the Nigerian Civil Service that takes federal government’s legal cases to the judiciary. The Ministry of Justice is headed by the Attorney General of Nigeria, also called the Minister of Justice. The Attorney General is assisted by a permanent secretary in the Ministry of Justice. The Ministry of Justice is further divided into departments, namely: the Department of Public prosecution Citizens rights; the Department of Law reporting; the Department of Finance and administration; the Department of Planning, research and statistics; the Department of Legal drafting; the Department of International and comparative law; the Department of Civil litigation; the department of Solicitors; the Department of Human resource management; and the Department of Procurement.

The Ministry of Justice has been headed by a good number of people. These people include: Hon Justice Taslim Elias (1960 – 1966); Chief G I M Onyiuke (1 March 1966 – 29 July 1966); Dr Nabo Graham Douglas (1966 – 1972); Hon Justice Dan Ibekwe (1972 – 1975); Hon Justice Augustine Nnamani (1975 -1979); Chief Richard O A Akinjide (1979 -1983); Mr Kehinde Sofola (October 1983 – December 1983); Mr Chike Ofodile (1984 – August 1985); Prince Bola Ajibola (12 September 1985 – 4 December 1991); Chief Clement Akpamgbo (1991 – 1993); Dr Olu Onagoruwa (1993 – 1994); Chief Michael Agbamuche (1994 – 1997); Mr Achiji Abdullahi Ibrahim (1997 – May 1999); Hon Kanu Godwin Agabi (June 1999 – January 2000); Chief Bola Ige (3 January 2000 – 23 December 2001); Hon Kanu Godwin Agabi (2002 -2003); Chief Akin Olujimi (July 2003 – July 2005); Chief Bayo Ojo (July 2005 – July 2007); Chief Michael Aondoakaa (26 July 2007 – 10 February 2010); Prince Adetokunbo Kayode (10 February 2010 – 17 March 2010); Mr Mohammed Bello Adoke (6 April 2010 – 29 May 2011); Mr Mohammed Bello Adoke (2 July 2011 – May 2015); Mr Abubakar Malami (11 November 2015 — Present).

Ministry of Interior

The Ministry of Interior is another division under the Nigerian Civil Service. This ministry was created in 2007 by a past President of Nigeria, Umaru Musa Yar’Adua. This ministry is a merger of the Federal Ministry of Internal Affairs and the Ministry of Police Affairs.

The Federal Ministry of Internal Affairs existed between 1957 and 2007. The objective of the Ministry of Interior is to provide additional security services in the country. This ministry is responsible for recruiting people who work in the following places: Prisons Service, Immigration Service, Fire Service and the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps.

Since 2007 when the ministry was created, five people have been the Minister of Interior. These five people include Godwin Abbe (2007 – 2009); Shettima Mustapha (2009 – 2010); Emmanuel Iheanacho (2010 – 2011); Patrick Abba Moro (2011 – 2015); Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau (2015—Present).

That’s all about Structure of Nigerian Civil Service.


Tags: Structure of Nigerian Civil Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *