Nigeria Civil Service Reforms From 1960 Till Date. The Nigeria Civil Service is a body of people working for the Nigerian government, to help the government deliver services to the citizens of the country. This body has existed as early as when the country gained independence. Just as it is well-known, the Nigeria Civil Service is very inefficient, and as a result, it has undergone a lot of reforms. It is worthwhile noting that the Nigeria Civil Service is alternatively called the Nigeria Public Service. The Nigeria Public Service has undergone a lot of reforms since 1960, including major and minor reforms. The majority of the Nigeria Civil Service reforms from 1960 till date aim at making the service efficient.

Nigeria Civil Service Reforms From 1960 Till Date

Some Major Nigeria Civil Service Reforms

It is quite ideal to discuss some major Public Service reforms. The Tudoe Davies Commission is one of the major reforms of the Nigeria Public Service. This reform took place in 1945 and has a positive impact on the Civil Service. In 1946, the Tudoe Davies Commission was perceived as insufficient and the Civil Service underwent another reform, Harragin Commission of 1946. The Nigeria Public Service also experienced the effect of the Gorsuch Commission in 1954. Following the Gorsuch Commission reform, Mbanefo Commission sprouted in, in 1959. Other major reforms include the Margan Commission of 1963, the Adebo Commission of 1971, and the Udoji Commission of 1972 — 1974. The last major reform in the Nigeria Civil Service took place in 2009. This reform saw that the maximum number of years a permanent secretary can spend on service is 8 years. This 8 year corresponds to two terms, 4 years per term.

Ministries That Have Been Affected By Reforms

The Nigeria Civil Service is sectioned into ministries. These ministries are headed by a person that reports directly to the President of the country. We have discussed major reforms the Civil Service has experienced. However, we think it is ideal to discuss the Nigerian ministries that have been affected by at least one major reform. The following are ministries that have been affected so far: Ministry of Agriculture; Ministry of Aviation; Ministry of Defence; Ministry of Education; Ministry of Energy; Ministry of Environment; Ministry of Federal Capital Territory; Ministry of Finance; Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Ministry of Health; Ministry of Information; Ministry of Interior; Ministry of Justice; Ministry of Labour and Productivity; Ministry of Lands & Urban Development; Ministry of Mines and Steel Development; Ministry of Niger Delta; Ministry of Petroleum Resources; Ministry of Power; Ministry of Science & Technology; Ministry of Trade and Investment; Ministry of Transportation; Ministry of Tourism, Culture & National Orientation; Ministry of Water; Ministry of Women Affairs; Ministry of Works; Ministry of Youth Development.

The Ministry of Agriculture

The Ministry of Agriculture, fully known as the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and rural development, is the ministry responsible for agricultural related issues. This ministry regulates the following: agricultural research, agriculture and natural resources, forestry, and veterinary research. The head of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development is Audu Innocent Ogbeh who was appointed minister by the present President of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari. Audu Innocent Ogbeh has headed the ministry since 2015 when he was appointed a minister. People who held this post in the past, include Akinwumi Adesina, Adamu Bello, Abba Sayyadi Ruma, and Sheikh Ahmed Abdullah. Akinwumi Adesina was the minister from 2011 — 2015, under former President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan’s administration. Apart from once being the minister of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Sheikh Ahmed Abdullah has also headed the Federal Ministry of Water Resources. The Federal Ministry of Water Resources was cut out from the former Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, and Sheikh Ahmed Abdullah became the first minister of the ministry.

The Ministry of Defence

Military – Nigeria Civil Service Reforms From 1960 Till Date

The Nigerian Ministry of Defence is the ministry responsible for ensuring national security in the country. This ministry is made up of the three branches of the Nigerian military and some other organizations. The three branches of the Nigerian military in question are the Nigerian Army, the Nigerian Air Force, and the Nigerian Navy. The ministry is presently headed by Mansur Dan Ali. Past ministers of Defence include Iliya Bisalla (1975 — 1976); Iya Abubakar (1979 — 1981); Akanbi Oniyangi (1981 — 1983); Domkat Bali (1984 to 1990); Sani Abacha (1990 — 1994); Theophilus Danjuma (1999 — 2003); Rabiu Kwankwaso (2003 — 2007); Thomas I. Aguiyi-Ironsi (2006 — 2007); Yayale Ahmed (2007 — 2008); Shettima Mustapha (2008 — 2009); Godwin Abbe (2009 — 2010); Adetokunbo Kayode (2010 — 2011); Haliru Mohammed Bello (2011 July — 2012 June); Olusola Obada (2012 July — 2013 September); Aliyu Mohammed Gusau (March 2014 — May 2015). The following are some other bodies under the Ministry of Defence: the Defence Industries Corporation of Nigeria (DICON), the Directorate of Military Pensions (DMP), the Nigerian Defence Academy (NDA), and the Nigerian Defence Intelligence Agency.

The Ministry of Education

The Ministry of Education, fully known as the Federal Ministry of Education, is the ministry concerned with the education of citizens of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. This ministry was founded in 1988 by the present President of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari. President Muhammadu Buhari founded this ministry when he was the military President of the country. This ministry is located at Block 5A (8th Floor), Federal Secretariat Complex, Shehu Shagari Way, Central Area, P.M.B. 146, Garki,

This ministry has a good number of parastatals, and they are namely: National Universities Commission (NUC), Abuja; National Board for Technical Education (NBTE), Kaduna; National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE), Abuja; Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC), Abuja; National Commission for Nomadic Education, (NCNE), Abuja; National Commission for Adult Education Mass Literacy and Non-Formal Education (NMEC), Abuja; Nigerian Educational Research Development Council (NERDC), Sheda, FCT; Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB), Bwari, Abuja; West African Examination Council (WAEC), Lagos; National Examination Council (NECO), Minna, State; National Business and Technical Examination Board (NABTEB); National Institute for Educational Planning & Administration (NIEPA), Ondo; National Teachers Institute (NTI), Kaduna; Nigerian Mathematical Centre (NMC), Sheda, FCT; Nigerian French Language Village (NFLV) Badagry, Lagos; Nigerian Arabic Language Village (NALV) Ngala, Borno; National Institute for Nigerian Languages (NINLAN) Aba, Abia; Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TET FUND), Abuja; National Library of (NLN), Abuja; Teachers-Registration Council of (TRCN), Abuja; Computer Professionals Registration Council of (CPN), Lagos; Federal Scholarship Board, Abuja

That’s all on Nigeria Civil Service Reforms From 1960 Till Date


Tags: Nigeria Civil Service Reforms From 1960 Till Date

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *