Exchange Rates, Richest Nigerian African Best Ranking World Best Information



Nigeria is Africa’s most populous country but in terms of landmass, it lags behind several African countries including Egypt, Algeria, Sudan, etc. Since 1996, Nigeria has remained a nation with 36 independent States with Abuja being the Federal Capital Territory. Precisely, it is fascinating to dabble in prolonged discussions about Nigeria, its massive population, and its landmass. { Smallest City In Nigeria }

When discussions are held about the largest States in Nigeria, some people may be interested in finding out the smallest States in the country. Briefly speaking, Niger State is Nigeria’s largest State while Lagos State, despite being the most populous State, occupies the smallest landmass as a Nigerian State. Although Lagos State is located in the South-West, most of the smallest Nigerian States are found in the South-East –a Nigerian geopolitical zone largely occupied by the Igbo’s.


  • What Is The Smallest City In Nigeria

Quite interestingly, the largest Nigerian States have little population if compared with some of the smallest States in the country. Therefore, it is obvious that some Nigerian States are small but heavily populated while few others are large but sparsely populated. Over and above that, the North occupies the largest landmass, leaving the South-West with a smaller landmass and the South-East with the smallest landmass.

This article broadly reviews the Smallest City in Nigeria / Top 5 Smallest States in Nigeria and in order to make it a comprehensive read, we have included important information about each of the five States. As you further read this article, you’re sure to find out the location of each State as well as its landmass and estimated population. As earlier implied, most of these States are located in the South-East of Nigeria due to the small landmass occupied by the region.

The Smallest City In Nigeria

Among all major state with a decent population, Lagos city is the smallest city in Nigeria in terms of land mass and size buh would be among the largest in terms of population.

Top 5 Smallest States in Nigeria

  • 1. Lagos State


Lagos Nigeria

Lagos, Nigeria

Lagos State is the smallest Nigerian State due to its meager geography surrounded by water. In land mass, it covers only 3, 345 square kilometres, giving it the smallest land area occupied by a Nigerian State. Despite its small land mass, the irony about Lagos State is that it is the most populous State in Nigeria. With its current population estimated in excess of 10 million residents, Lagos State is more populous than few countries in the world.

Located very close to Ogun State in South-West Nigeria, Lagos State is arguably the most significant Nigerian State in terms of economy and commerce. In fact, it is the centrepiece of Nigeria’s major commercial activities including the shipment of crude oil. Ikeja is the capital city of Lagos State but there are many other important places like Lekki and Victoria Island.

  • 2. Anambra State

Anambra State

Anambra is one of the significant States in the South-East of Nigeria –a region largely dominated by Igbos. Although Onitsha is the biggest urban centre as well as the most important commercial hub, Awka is surprisingly the capital city of Anambra State. Considered the second smallest Nigerian State, Anambra has a land area of 4,84436 square kilometres with the population of 4,182,032 inhabitants. Besides Awka and Onitsha, Nnewi is another prominent city in Anambra State and it is often regarded as the most industrialized city in the State.

Anambra is one of the 7 States created in 1976 under the military regime of General Murtala Mohammed. Until it was separated from Anambra in 1991, Enugu city was part of Anambra State and even served as the capital of the then Anambra State.

  • 3. Imo State

Imo State

Imo State is one of the most prominent States in the South-Eastern zone of Nigeria. Its boundary stretches between the upper and middle Imo River and the lower River Niger. In landmass, it occupies the total of 5,53035 square kilometers and its population hovers around 3,934,899 inhabitants. Although Owerri is the biggest city as well as the capital of Imo State, there are various other major areas including Okigwe and Orlu.

Imo State is one of the Nigerian States where farming is best practiced. There are many farmers across the locales of the State and some of the crops commonly grown in its fertile soil are maize, cocoyam, cassava, and yam. Besides, Imo State contributes massively to Nigeria’s production of cash crops among which are rubber, cocoa, oil palm, cotton, melon, groundnut, rice and raffia palm.

  • 4. Abia State

Abia State

Abia State is another notable State in the South-East of Nigeria. Although Abia is the major financial hub, Umuahia happens to be the capital city of Abia State. Regarded as one of the smallest States in Nigeria, Abia State covers only 6,32033 square kilometers of Nigeria’s overall landmass. Until it became autonomous in 1991, Abia was part of former Imo State and currently, it is divided into 17 Local Government Areas. Interestingly, the word “Abia’’ is seemingly an acronym coined from the four most populous areas in the State. Meanwhile, the four areas are Aba, Bende, Isuikwuato, and Afikpo.

Like the other Igbo States, Abia State is dominated by Christians and its population is estimated at 2,833,999 inhabitants. As typical of South-Eastern States, over 90% of Abia inhabitants are Igbos and Igbo remains the indigenous language of the State.

  • 5. Ebonyi State

Ebonyi State

Ebonyi State is the South-Eastern State commonly referred to as “Salt of the Nation’’ in view of its enormous deposit of salt. Abakaliki is the biggest city as well as the capital of Ebonyi State. Meanwhile, the several other major areas in the State are Onicha, Afikpo, Edda, and Onueke. Notably, Ebonyi is one of the 6 States created under the military regime of Sani Abacha in 1996. And as a South-Eastern State, it was carved out of the pair of Abia and Enugu States. As regards its population, Ebonyi is inhabited by 2,173,501 people and its territory is subdivided into 13 Local Government Areas. Around its eastern part, Ebonyi is bordered by Cross River State. In the south, it borders upon Abia and Imo States. Likewise, it shares borders with Enugu State and Benue State in the West and North respectively.

Trading and farming are the most dominant occupational activities in Ebonyi State. With the presence of industrious farmers, the State produces many crops including sugar cane, rice, vegetables, maize, fruits, beans, melon, banana, plantain, and yam.

That’s all about The Smallest City In Nigeria


Tags: The Smallest City In Nigeria / Top 5 Smallest States

Updated: April 17, 2018 — 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NaijaQuest.Com © 2018
error: Content is protected !!