Glo CAF Awards 2016 / 2017 Winners & Nominees Full List

Glo CAF Awards 2016 / 2017 Winners and Nominees Full List

Glo CAF Awards is an Award held to celebrate the best of African footballers yearly by Confederation of African footballers with Glo as one of the major sponsors

The winners are chosen by votes from the CAF Football and Media Committees except Legend and Platinum awards, which are not subject to vote while Referee of the Year Award will be chosen by the votes of CAF Refereeing Committee.

Glo CAF Awards Winners Nominees 207 / 2018

The 2016 Glo-CAF Awards ceremony took place at the International Conference Center in Abuja.

Below are the full list Glo CAF Awards Winners and Nominees for the year 2016 / 2017

Africa First XI /  African Team Of The Year

Forwards : Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)

Midfielders : Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan DOLLY (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns

Defenders : Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric BAILLY (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce LOMALISA (DR Congo & AS Vita)

Goalkeeper : Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Club of the Year

  • Mamelodi Sundowns
  • TP Mazembe 
  • Zesco United

Glo CAF Awards Club of the Year is Mamelodi Sundowns FC

National Team of the Year

  • DR Congo
  • Senegal 
  • Uganda

Glo CAF Awards Men’s National Team Of The Year is Uganda

Youth Player of the Year

  • Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal)
  • Eric AYIAH (Ghana and Charity FC) 
  • Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana and Supreme Ladies)

Glo CAF Awards Youth Player Of The Year is Alex Iwobi

Most Promising Talent

  • Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  • Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City) 
  • Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

Glo CAF Awards Most Promising Talent is Kelechi Iheanacho 

Coach of the Year

  • Florent IBENGE (DR Congo national team)
  • Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)
  • Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Glo CAF Award Coach of The Year is Pitso Mosimane

Women National Team of the Year

  • Cameroon
  • Nigeria 
  • South Africa

Glo CAF Awards Women’s National Team Of The Year is  Nigeria ( Super falcon )

Women Player of the Year

  • Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
  • Elizabeth ADDO (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik) 
  • Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossyanka)

Glo CAF Award Woman player of the year is  Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

Referee of the Year

  • Bakary Papa GASSAMA
  • Ghead Zaglol GRISHA 
  • Malang DIEDHIOU

Glo CAF Award Referee Of The Year is Bakary Papa GASSAMA

African Player Of The Year based in Africa

  • Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe)
  • Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) 
  • Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Winner African Player of The Year is 

African Player Of The Year

  • Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
  • Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City) 
  • Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool)

Glo CAF Award Winner for African Player of The Year is Riyad Mahrez

African Legend Award

  • Laurent POKOU, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire
  • Emilienne MBANGO, Former player of Cameroon

Football Leader Of The Year goes to Manuel LOPES NASCIMENTO, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation

Car Platinum Award goes to President Muhammadu Buhari Nigeria

There you it for Glo CAF Awards 2016 / 2017 Full List of Winners and Nominees , share your thought and experience with us through the comment box and like us on facebook @

Tagged: Glo CAF Awards 2017, Glo CAF Awards Winners Nominees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *